3 Things to Know About Facebook's Photo Album Update

By Shari Donk On Monday, Facebook announced the addition of shared photo albums, where multiple users will be able to upload photos to the same album. With 500 million pictures being shared over the internet every day, it's no surprise that Facebook wants to capitalize on a user's innate need to collaborate with photos.

However, this is a feature that already exists on Google+ and is reminiscent of the way Pinterest contributor boards function. When it comes to the uploading and sharing of photos, Facebook always seems to be a step behind. Instagram led the way with photo manipulation and Facebook acquired Instagram to offer users the filter functionality. Google+ launched with strong photo visuals. Facebook changed the size and quality of their photo posts to compete with them.

There are 3 important things you need to know about Facebook's photo album update:

1. The numbers: Upon launch, up to 50 people can be added as contributors, each being allowed to share 200 photos. This means, an album will now be able to hold up to 10,000 photos, compared to the 1,000 photos-per-album limit prior.

2. Privacy settings: The new shared albums have three available privacy settings: public, friends of contributors and contributors only.

3. Brand pages: Although this feature is not yet available on pages, this could be a huge opportunity for brands in the future. Adding fans as album contributors could open up a new world for contests and promotions. Adding employees as album contributors will show fans an inside peek into brand life.

How would you use a shared photo album on Facebook? Share with us in the comments below.